Players of the Game, Champions Named Following 38-7 Win Over Wisconsin

Robert Landers Chase Young Tyreke Smith Ohio State Buckeyes

The Ohio State coaches took a day off following the Buckeyes’ 38-7 win over Wisconsin, so their film grading sessions were a day later than normal this year. To no one’s surprise, however, junior running back JK Dobbins and junior defensive end Chase Young were named the Buckeyes’ Offensive and Defensive Players of the Game for their respective performances on Saturday.

Fourth-year junior safety/Bullet Jahsen Wint was named the Special Teams Player of the Game. He had two tackles in coverage against the Badgers.

Dobbins, meanwhile, rushed for 163 yards and two touchdowns on 20 attempts. In so doing, he became the first Buckeye to rush for over 1,000 yards in his first three seasons on campus, and became the second Buckeye to rush for 1,000 yards three times in a career (Archie Griffin). Dobbins also caught three passes for 58 yards. He was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week as well.

Young tied a school record with four sacks, tallying six total tackles and five tackles for loss. He also forced two fumbles, both of which were recovered by the Buckeyes. Young now has 13.5 sacks on the season and is one away from setting a new school record. He also became just the second player in school history with multiple seasons of double-digit sacks (he finished with 10.5 in 2018), joining Mike Vrabel.

Young was also the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week, as well as the Bronco Nagurski and Walter Camp National Defensive Player of the Week.

Also earning Champions grades on defense with Young were defensive tackles Jashon Cornell, Davon Hamilton, Robert Landers, and Tommy Togiai, linebackers Malik Harrison, Tuf Borland, and Pete Werner, cornerbacks Jeff Okudah and Damon Arnette, and safety Jordan Fuller.

Joining Dobbins as Champions for the offense were quarterback Justin Fields, running back Master Teague, tight end Jeremy Ruckert, receiver Chris Olave, right tackle Branden Bowen, right guard Wyatt Davis, and left guard Jonah Jackson.

The Scout Team Players of the Week were running back Marcus Crowley, offensive lineman Jack Jamieson, defensive tackle Jaden McKenzie, and linebacker Trayvon Wilburn. Crowley’s name is notable because he was portraying Wisconsin All-American tailback Jonathan Taylor, and must have done an incredible job preparing the Buckeye defense, because they only allowed Taylor 52 yards rushing on 20 attempts.

4 Responses

  1. I’m happy to see the DL graded out well. And I guess we now know who was responsible for the 5 sacks. I sure as hell hope Fields doesn’t get seriously injured by an unblocked blitzer this season.

  2. Tony. Thanks for this and the many great articles. Just wondering, how many times has Fieids been graded champion this year?

    1. buckeyeabroad — Justin Fields has been named Champion six times, missing out on Miami and Michigan State.

      1. Thanks, Tony. Keep up the outstanding Buckeye’s coverage please!

Comments are closed.