Established October 31, 1996

More Football

Ozone Links
Ohio State Names 2014 Football Captains
By James Vogel

Urban Meyer isn’t ready to release the two-deep depth chart for the Ohio State Buckeyes or name a pair of starters on the offensive line, but his team’s captains have been decided.

Despite being lost for the 2014 season after again hurting his throwing shoulder last week, senior quarterback Braxton Miller was “a high vote-getter,” according to Meyer. The other four captains are also all seniors — tight end Jeff Heuerman, defensive lineman Michael Bennett, linebacker Curtis Grant and cornerback Doran Grant.

Both Doran and Curtis Grant were singled out by Meyer, who called the former a “great success story” with how he’s turned around his Ohio State career. He then commended the way Curtis Grant has grown up since his arrival in Columbus, Ohio.

All five players were starters last season, although Miller and Curtis Grant did miss some games with various injuries.

Captains at Ohio State under Meyer have been determined by a team vote, but last season saw eight players hold the title until the end of the season when the list was trimmed to six. Initially, Jack Mewhort, C.J. Barnett, Corey Linsley, Kenny Guiton, Corey “Philly” Brown, Christian Bryant, Miller and Ryan Shazier were named to serve as game captains.

Meyer said that was the first time in his career that he had determined the captains at the end of the season.

The 2014 edition of Ohio State’s captains is a bit more clear cut.

* * * * *
* * * * *
To Contribute by mail Make checks and mail to:
Ozone Communications, LLC
1351 King Avenue, Ste 100B
Columbus, Ohio 43212

Help us bring you more Buckeye coverage. Contribute to the-Ozone.

(c) 1996-2017 The O-Zone, O-Zone Communications, Inc. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, rebroadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.