Spring Game Roster

Please patronize our advertisers to help
keep theOzone.net free for everyone.

Click here to return to the front page.
Established October 31, 1996
Front Page Columns and Features
Last updated: 04/19/2012 7:43 PM

Follow Brandon
on Twitter
Email Brandon
Share |

Scarlet and Gray Rosters set for spring game

OSU Release

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State’s football coaches met at 6 a.m. Thursday morning to select the teams for the 2012 LiFE Sports Spring Game, which will take place Saturday afternoon at Ohio Stadium beginning at 1:30 p.m. Scarlet head coach Tom Herman and Gray coach Luke Fickell led their respective staffs in choosing teams.

While no mention was made of which team had the first selection in the draft or who was the first overall pick, the two teams have interesting dynamics. 

Braxton Miller will quarterback Herman’s Scarlet team and he’ll work behind an offensive line that includes four players – Jack Mewhort, Corey Linsley, Marcus Hall and Reid Fragel – who have worked with the first unit this spring. Johnathan Hankins, Ryan Shazier and Travis Howard are among the key Scarlet defenders.

John Simon leads Fickell’s Gray team that features Etienne Sabino, Garrett Goebel and Bradley Roby on defense with Kenny Guiton at quarterback and offensive threats like Jordan Hall, Jake Stoneburner, Corey Brown and Devin Smith.

Each team will feature two captains for this game: Scarlet captains are Zach Boren and Jack Mewhort and Gray’s captains are John Simon and Etienne Sabino.  

Team Scarlet
Head Coach – Tom Herman
Assistant Coaches – Everett Withers, Mike Vrabel, Tim Hinton
Game Captains – Zach Boren and Jack Mewhort

QB – Braxton Miller, Justin Siems
RB – Carlos Hyde, Rod Smith
FB – Zach Boren
WR – Chris Fields, Frank Kangah, Ryan Ross, Evan Spencer, Michael Thomas, Tyrone Williams
TE – Jeff Heuerman, Derek Burkholder, Nick Vannett
OL – Darryl Baldwin, Reid Fragel, Marcus Hall, Eric Kramer, Corey Linsley, Jack Mewhort, Tim Trummer 
DL – Michael Bennett, Logan Beougher, Chase Farris, Joel Hale, Johnathan Hankins, William McCary, J.T. Moore, Se’Von Pittman, Kharim Stephens
LB – Connor Crowell, Storm Klein, Ryan Shazier, Stewart Smith
DB – C.J. Barnett, Christian Bryant, Doran Grant, Zach Domicone, Travis Howard, Vincent Petrella, Ron Tanner, Julian Vann, Jamie Wood
K/P – Drew Basil, Kyle Clinton, Kevin Niehoff
LS – Bryce Haynes

Team Gray
Head Coach – Luke Fickell
Assistant Coaches – Kerry Coombs, Ed Warinner, Stan Drayton, Zach Smith
Team Captains – Etienne Sabino and John Simon

QB – Kenny Guiton, Cardale Jones
RB – Bri’onte Dunn, Jordan Hall
FB – Adam Homan
WR – Corey Brown, Peter Gwilym, Verlon Reed, Taylor Rice, Devin Smith
TE – Kyle Schuck, Jake Stoneburner
OL – Ivon Blackman, Brian Bobek, Jacoby Boren, Tommy Brown, Taylor Decker, Andrew Norwell, Ben St. John, Antonio Underwood
DL – Adam Bellamy, Dalton Britt, Chris Carter, Garrett Goebel, Steve Miller, John Simon, Nathan Williams 
LB – Curtis Grant, Ross Oltorik, Joshua Perry, Andy Reed, Luke Roberts, Etienne Sabino
DB – Corey Brown, Adam Griffin, Orhian Johnson, Tyvis Powell, Bradley Roby, Nick Sarac 
K/P – Ben Buchanan, Kyle Clinton, Russell Doup
LS – George Makridis

Donate by Check :

Ozone Communications
1380 King Avenue
Columbus, Ohio

Help us bring you more Buckeye coverage. Donate to the-Ozone.

Click here to email this the-Ozone feature to a friend...or even a foe.

(c) 2010 The O-Zone, O-Zone Communications, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, rebroadcast,rewritten, or redistributed.

Click here to return to the front page.

Front Page Columns and Features