Linsley on watch list.

Please patronize our advertisers to help
keep free for everyone.

Click here to return to the front page.
Established October 31, 1996
Front Page Columns and Features
Last updated: 05/21/2013 10:34 AM
Follow Tony
on Twitter
Email Tony
Share |

Corey Linsley One of 44 Players on Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List

By Tony Gerdeman

The committee for the Rimington Trophy, which recognizes the nation's best center, released their Spring Watch List on Tuesday, and Ohio State center Corey Linsley made the cut.

Corey Linsley
Photo by Jim Davidson
Corey Linsley

Linsley, who started all 12 games for the Buckeyes last year, received Honorable Mention All-Big Ten recognition last season from both the media and the coaches.

A senior majoring in Economics, Linsley solidified the offensive line for the Buckeyes last year, setting the tone for their powerful inside running game. In doing so, he came a long way to get to where he is now.

"He developed consistency in his work habits, his mentality, how he prepared for the game," offensive line coach Ed Warinner said of him.

"His off the field decisions, how he took care of himself, all those types of things all come into play. He matured a lot. I think he realized that to be a really good football player– and that was important to him – what do I need to do?

"We helped guide him and he followed the plan. He wasn't a center so he had to learn how to snap. We taught him how to do it and he had to work on it on his own. Next thing you know he’s snapping the ball and he learned how to play center. So that’s been good too because that's not an easy task in the shotgun."

The Buckeyes are not unfamiliar with the trophy, as former Buckeye LeCharles Bentley won the award in 2001. Alex Stepanovich was on the Watch List in 2003, and Nick Mangold followed him on the list the next two seasons. Jim Cordle made the list in 2007 and 2008, and Mike Brewster appeared on the list from 2009-2011.

The trophy is named after former Nebraska All-American center Dave Rimington, and has been awarded since 2000. A Big Ten player has won the award five times, with Michigan having the most winners with two.

Fellow Big Ten players Travis Jackson (Michigan State), Cole Pensick (Nebraska), and Brandon Vitabile (Northwestern) are also on the initial 2013 Watch List.

The award is determined by the number of appearances on four particular First-Team All-American lists: the American Football Coaches Association, the Walter Camp Foundation, The Sporting News, and the Football Writers Association of America. In the event of a tie, the Second-Team appearances will then be tabulated. If there is still a tie, then the vote goes to the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 11, 2014.

The following is the Spring Watch List for the 2013 Rimington Trophy.

David Andrews Georgia 6'2" 295 Junior
Russell Bodine North Carolina 6'4" 310 Junior
Evan Boehm Missouri 6'3"; 315 Sophomore
Jake Brendel UCLA 6'5" 276 RS Sophomore
Betim Bujari Rutgers 6'4" 290 Junior
Ben Clarke Hawaii 6'3" 275 Sophomore
Sean Conway Western Kentucky 6'3" 305 Senior
Dillon Day Mississippi State 6'4" 295 RS Junior
Reese Dismukes Auburn 6'3"; 290 Junior
Dominic Espinosa Texas 6'4" 300 Junior
Dillon Farrell New Mexico 6'5" 292 Senior
Jay Finch Georgia Tech 6'3" 285 Senior
B.J. Finney Kansas State 6'4" 303 Junior
Matt Galas Nevada 6'1" 280 Junior
Bryce Giddens Arkansas State 6'0" 225 Sophomore
Hroniss Grasu Oregon 6'3" 297 Junior
Gus Handler Colorado 6'3" 290 Senior
Jonotthan Harrison Florida 6'4" 299 RS Junior
Andre Huval Louisiana-Lafayette 6'1" 290 Senior
Gabe Ikard Oklahoma 6'3" 298 RS Senior
Travis Jackson Michigan State 6'3" 280 Junior
David Kekuewa Bowling Green 6'2" 308 Junior
Ryan Kelly Alabama 6'5" 290 RS Sophomore
Zac Kerin Toledo 6'5" 300 Senior
Kody Koebensky Arizona State 6'3" 290 Senior
Tyler Larsen Utah State 6'4" 312 Senior
Taylor Lasecki SMU 6'3" 288 Sophomore
Corey Linsley Ohio State 6'3" 297 Junior
Macky MacPherson Syracuse 6'2" 280 Senior
Mike Marboe Idaho 6'2" 301 Junior
Shane McDermott Miami 6'4" 296 Junior
Cole Pensick Nebraska 6'2" 275 Senior
Ryan Powis Army 6'0" 248 Junior
Bryce Redman Houston 6'1" 285 Junior
Austin Reiter USF 6'3" 273 RS Junior
Weston Richburg Colorado State 6'4" 297 RS Senior
Isaac Seumalo Oregon State 6'3" 302 RS Senior
James Stone Tennessee 6'3" 300 Senior
Bryan Stork Florida State 6'4" 312 RS Senior
Travis Swanson Arkansas 6'5" 305 Senior
Evan Swindall Mississippi 6'4" 295 Senior
Valerian Ume-Ezeoke New Mexico State 6'2" 285 Junior
Brandon Vitabile Northwestern 6'3" 300 RS Junior
Robert Waterman UNLV 6'2" 290 Junior

Donate by Check :

Ozone Communications
1380 King Avenue
Columbus, Ohio

Help us bring you more Buckeye coverage. Donate to the-Ozone.

Click here to email this the-Ozone feature to a friend...or even a foe.

(c) 2010 The O-Zone, O-Zone Communications, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, rebroadcast,rewritten, or redistributed.

Click here to return to the front page.
Front Page Columns and Features