Four Buckeyes added to N/S roster

Please patronize our advertisers to help
keep free for everyone.

Click here to return to the front page.
Established October 31, 1996
Front Page Columns and Features
Last updated: 01/29/2013 5:23 AM

Follow Brandon
on Twitter
Email Brandon
Share |

Four Buckeyes Added to North-South Classic Rosters
By Brandon Castel

COLUMBUS, Ohio — While most of the high profile high school all-star games took place earlier this month, there is still one big one coming to Ohio this April.

Make that two big ones, to be exact.

The Ohio High School Football Coaches Association recently voted to expand the annual North-South All-Star Classic from one game to two. That means four different teams this year, broken up by division, and it also means more of Ohio’s top high school football players will get a chance to show what they can do on the big stage.

This year will mark the 68th installment of the nation’s longest running high school football all-star game, and the two games will take place April 27 at Welcome Stadium in Dayton, Ohio – football home of the UD Flyers.

This is a major change from the past five years, when the North-South all-star game was held at Ohio Stadium on the campus of The Ohio State University. Before that, the game was played at Columbus Crew Stadium from 2001-07, following a lengthy run in Massillon.

While this year’s game will not take place at the Horseshoe, it will feature a number of players who will spend plenty of time up the road in Columbus over the next 4-5 years. The Division I-III North squad will be coached by Tiffin Columbian High School’s Brian Colatruglio and it will feature a pair of future Buckeyes in cornerback Gareon Conley and linebacker/safety Chris Worley.

Conley is a former Michigan commit from Massillon Washington who flipped his commitment to Ohio State back in December. Worley is a hard-hitter out of Cleveland who will continue the Glenville pipeline to Columbus.

The two future Buckeyes from the 2013 class will square off against a pair of future Ohio State teammates in Middletown’s Jalin Marshall and New Albany’s Darron Lee. Marshall is a high school quarterback by trade who will be making the transition to wide receiver/playmaker at Ohio State.

He played strictly receiver at the U.S. Army All-American Bowl down in San Antonio, but it will be interesting to see where South coach Bob DeLong (Xenia) has him lining up in the North-South Classic come April.

Marshall is listed as a quarterback, but if he plays receiver, he could very well be matched up against Conley, who played in the Under Armour All-American game in Florida earlier this month. He is listed as a receiver on the North roster, but the 4-star prospect is expecting to play on the defensive side of the ball when he gets to Ohio State.

Along with Conley and Worley, the North roster also features a handful of other well-known players from Ohio, kids who will be wearing something other than scarlet and gray over the next four years.

Hudson linebacker Ben Gideon is one of eight kids headed to Big Ten schools on the North team. He will play at Michigan next season along with Trotwood-Madison defensive back Reon Dawson, who is playing for the South.

There are nine kids on the South roster headed for Big Ten programs next year, including Jake Replogle, a kid from Centerville who will apparently buck family ties to Indiana by signing with Darrell Hazell and Purdue next month.

Key Names (North Squad Division I-III)

Gareon Conley, WR, Massillon Washington, (Ohio State)
Sam Coverdale, OL Kenston, (Northwestern)
Leshun Daniels, RB, Warren Harding, (Boston College)
Patrick Dougherty, OL, Aurora, (Indiana)
Ben Gedeon, LB, Hudson, (Michigan)
Darian Hicks, DB, Solon, (Michigan State)
Kevin Kavalec, DL, Cleveland St. Ignatius, (Boston College)
Dave Katusha, DL, Cleveland St. Ignatius, (Air Force)
Kyle Kempt, QB, Massillon Washington, (Oregon State)
Grant Lingafelter, OL, Chagrin Falls, (Miami, Ohio)
Tim McVey, RB, Cleveland St. Ignatius, (Buffalo)
Antoine Miles, DL, Canton McKinley, (Nebraska)
Marquese Moore, DL, Toledo Whitmer, (Toledo)
Jaylen Powell, DB, Warren Harding, (Michigan State)
John Stepec, DL, Mentor Lake Catholic, (Toledo)
Keith Towbridge, TE, Toledo Central Catholic, (Louisville)
Chiris Worley, LB, Cleveland Glenville, (Ohio State)

Key Names (South Squad Division I-III)

Carson Baker, OL, Fairborn, Roy Thobe (Pitt)
Reon Dawson, DB, Trotwood-Madison, (Michigan)
Caleb Day, DB, Hilliard Darby, (Illinois)
Alex Gall, OL, Cincinnati Moeller, (Miami, Fla.)
Brant Gressel, DL, Centerville, (Iowa)
Godwin Igwebuike, RB, Pickerington North, (Northwestern)
Rasheen Jones, LB Cincinnati Northwest, (Cincinnati)
Troy Mangen, TE, Clayton Northmont, (Ohio)
Jalin Marshall, QB, Middletown, (Ohio State)
Miles McCollum, DL, Dublin Coffman, (Harvard)
Kyle Meadows, OL, Lakota West, (Kentucky)
Mason Morgan, TE, Sycamore, (Ohio)
Quentin Poling, LB, Elida, (Ohio)
Jake Replogle, DL, Centerville, (Purdue)
Nathan Strock, QB, Dresden Tri-Valley, (Kent State)
Keith Watkins, DB, Cincinnati Moeller, (Northwestern)
Dylan Wiesman, OL, Cincinnati Colerain, (Tennessee)

Donate by Check :

Ozone Communications
1380 King Avenue
Columbus, Ohio

Help us bring you more Buckeye coverage. Donate to the-Ozone.

Click here to email this the-Ozone feature to a friend...or even a foe.

(c) 2010 The O-Zone, O-Zone Communications, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, rebroadcast,rewritten, or redistributed.

Click here to return to the front page.

Front Page Columns and Features