Nine Buckeyes to NCAA

Please patronize our advertisers to help
keep free for everyone.


Click here to return to the front page.
Established October 31, 1996
Front Page Columns and Features
Last updated: 03/12/2013 2:29 PM
Share |

Nine Buckeye Grapplers punch ticket to NCAA Championships
Stiebers Wrap Up B1G Titles
By Carl Amerine

(Editor’s Note: Carl is graduate of Wilmington College (Ohio), where he was a two-time NCAA All-American wrestler. He was also a two-time NWCA Academic All-American, and he served as an assistant coach at Wabash College before spending one season as the head wrestling coach at his alma mater.)

The Ohio State wrestling team finished in fourth place at 2013 Big Ten Championships over the weekend. To no one’s surprise, Penn State won the event to complete their Big 10 3-peat, while Minnesota came in second and Iowa finished third at the event in Champaign, Ill.

Sophomore brothers Logan and Hunter Stieber kept their undefeated seasons intact, earning a pair of Big Ten titles Sunday in Assembly Hall at 133 and 141 pounds respectively. Logan, a redshirt sophomore out of Monroeville, Ohio, earned his second conference title in as many years over the previously-unbeaten Tony Ramos of Iowa.

Logan Stieber
Photo by Jim Davidson
Logan Stieber

His brother Hunter followed his lead, downing an Iowa foe in No. 3 Mark Ballweg, for his first Big Ten crown. Appearing in his first Big Ten final after finishing third in 2012, Hunter got out to an early 4-1 lead after the first period on a pair of takedowns.

He added to his lead in the second when he escaped Ballweg and recorded a takedown before Ballweg was able to score the second of his three escapes of the match. Adding riding time, Hunter beat Ballweg, 8-3, in impressive fashion.

Hunter Stieber
Photo by Jim Davidson
Hunter Stieber

That victory matched the earlier performance of his brother Logan, who scored the match-winning takedown against Ramos in overtime to defend his Big Ten title. Ramos actually scored first on an escape in the second period to take a 1-0 lead, but Logan Stieber evened the score at 1-all when he recorded an escape in the opening moments of the third period.

Both Stieber brothers were rated No. 1 in their respective weight classes.

Nikko Triggas
Photo by Jim Davidson
Nikko Triggas

Senior All-American Nikko Triggas finished the weekend 4-2 to finish in 5th place at 125 pounds. New York native Ian Paddock knocked off No. 1-seeded Eric Grajales of Michigan in the 149 pound quarterfinals en route to a 6th place finish and his 3rd trip to the NCAA Championships. 

At 157 pounds, Josh Demas picked up two victories on his way to a 4th place finish, while freshman Mark Martin claimed 8th in his first Big Ten tournament in the 165-pound bracket. 

Redshirt junior Nick Heflin moved up a spot from last year’s Big Ten finish to 5th in one of the more interesting weight classes in the competition. The at 174 pounds saw the 5th-seeded Matt Brown (Penn State) claim the title and the first-seeded Logan Storley of Minnesota finish seventh.

Cody Magrum racked up four victories on his way to a 5th place finish at 184 pounds and his fourth NCAA qualification. Andrew Campolattano claimed 5th place with a 2-2 record at 197 pounds, giving the sophomore his second trip to the NCAA championships.

While a total of nine Buckeyes qualified for the NCAA championships – which will take place March 21-23 in Des Moines, Iowa – Ohio State finished fourth as a team at the Big Ten meet with 109.5 points over the weekend.

Led by one of the great collegiate wrestlers of all time, Penn State won its third consecutive Big Ten tournament title with 151 points, while Minnesota was second with 139 points. Iowa rounded out the Top 3 with 133.5 points. 

Nittany Lions’ coach Cael Sanderson won the gold medal for men’s freestyle wrestling – an event that will no longer be an official Olympic sport – at the Athens Olympics back in 2004. He was 159-0 in his career at Iowa State, winning four-consecutive NCAA titles from 1999–2002.

2013 Big Ten Championships
March 10, 2013
Session III
Assembly Hall
Champaign, Ill.

Team Standings
1.       Penn State 151 points
2.       Minnesota 139 points
3.       Iowa 133.5 points
4.       Ohio State 109.5 points
5.       Illinois 85.5 points
6.       Michigan 75 points
7.       Nebraska 61 points
8.       Northwestern 56 points
9.       Purdue 38 points
10.   Wisconsin 37 points
11.   Indiana 30.5 points
12.   Michigan State 22 points

Individual Results
125 – Nikko Triggas (5th)
No. 5 Nikko Triggas dec. Brenan Lyon (Michigan State), 4-2
No. 4 Sean Boyle (Michigan) dec. No. 5 Nikko Triggas, 4-2
No. 5 Nikko Triggas pins Eric Coufal (Nebraska), :53
No. 5 Nikko Triggas dec. Joe Duca (Indiana), 4-2
No. 2 Nico Megaludis (Penn State) dec. No. 5 Nikko Triggas, 4-1
No. 5 Nikko Triggas dec. No.7 David Thorn (Minnesota), 3-2tb1

133 – Logan Stieber (Champion)
No. 1 Logan Stieber pins Rossi Bruno (Michigan), 1:30
No. 1 Logan Stieber pins No. 4 Jordan Conaway (Penn State), 1:28
No. 1 Logan Stieber dec. Tony Ramos (Iowa), 3-1sv

141 – Hunter Stieber (Champion)
No. 1 Hunter Stieber dec. Nick Trimble (Michigan State), 10-3
No. 1 Hunter Stieber major dec. No. 8 Camryn Jackson (Michigan), 10-2
No. 1 Hunter Stieber dec. No. 5 Brandon Nelsen (Purdue), 10-8sv
No. 1 Hunter Stieber dec. No. 3 Mark Ballweg (Iowa), 8-3

149 – Ian Paddock (6th)
No. 8 Ian Paddock dec. No. 1 Eric Grajales (Michigan), 7-4
No. 4 Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska) dec. No. 8 Ian Paddock, 11-5
No. 2 Ivan Lopouchanski (Purdue) dec. No. 8 Ian Paddock, 8-5
No. 7 Dan Osterman (Michigan State) dec. No. 8 Ian Paddock, 6-3

157 – Josh Demas (4th)
No. 6 Josh Demas dec. No. 3 Dylan Alton (Penn State), 5-1(sv2)
No.  2 Jason Welch (Northwestern) dec. No. 6 Josh Demas, 2-0
No. 6 Josh Demas dec. No. 8 Danny Zilverberg (Minnesota), 12-6
No. 1 Derek St. John (Iowa) dec. No. 6 Josh Demas, 3-2

165 – Mark Martin (8th)
No. 9 Mark Martin dec. No. 8 Austin Wilson (Nebraska), 6-2
No. 1 David Taylor (Penn State) tech fall No. 9 Mark Martin, 20-5 (5:44)
No. 9 Mark Martin dec. No. 10 Pat Robinson (Purdue), 3-1sv
No. 5 Cody Yohn (Minnesota) dec. No. 9 Mark Martin, 5-0
No. 7 Ryan LeBlanc (Indiana) dec. No. 9 Mark Martin, 3-1

174 – Nick Heflin (5th)
No. 5 Matt Brown (Penn State) dec. No. 4 Nick Heflin, 7-1
No. 4 Nick Heflin pins No. 11 Jordan Wohlfert (Michigan State), 1:41
No. 4 Nick Heflin dec. No. 1 Logan Storley (Minnesota), 3-1sv
Jordan Blanton (Illinois) dec. No. 4 Nick Heflin, 4-1
No. 4 Nick Heflin dec. No. 8 Dan Yates (Michigan), 5-3

184 – C.J. Magrum (5th)
No. 8 C.J. Magrum major tech fall Ben Cox (Wisconsin), 17-0 (5:42)
No. 1 Ed Ruth (Penn State) tech fall No. 8 C.J. Magrum, 19-3 (5:38)
No. 8 C.J. Magrum dec. Jacob Berkowitz (Northwestern), 9-3
No. 8 C.J. Magrum vs. Chris Heald (Michigan), 8-4
No. 3 Josh Ihnen (Nebraska) dec. No. 8 C.J. Magrum, 3-0
No. 8 C.J. Magrum dec. No. 6 Tony Dallago (Illinois), 5-1

197 – Andrew Campolattano (5th)
No. 4 Andrew Campolattano dec. Braden Atwood (Purdue), 7-6
No. 1 Quentin Wright (Penn State) dec. No. 4 Andrew Campolattano, 1-0
No.3 Mario Gonzalez (Illinois) dec. No. 4 Andrew Campolattano, 5-3
No. 4 Andrew Campolattano pins No. 8 Max Huntley (Michigan), 1:31

No. 7 Jimmy Lawson (Penn State) major dec. No. 10 Kosta Karageorge, 9-1
No. 8 Ben Apland (Michigan) dec. No. 10 Kosta Karageorge, 7-0
*No. 10 Kosta Karageorge dec. No. 11 Chris Lopez (Illinois), 8-3

*bonus bout for NCAA qualifying purposes

Donate by Check :

Ozone Communications
1380 King Avenue
Columbus, Ohio

Help us bring you more Buckeye coverage. Donate to the-Ozone.

Click here to email this the-Ozone feature to a friend...or even a foe.

(c) 2010 The O-Zone, O-Zone Communications, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, rebroadcast,rewritten, or redistributed.

Click here to return to the front page.
Front Page Columns and Features