Other Sports

Ohio State Men’s Tennis Wins ITA National Indoor Championship

Ohio State Buckeyes Tennis National Champions

For the second time in six seasons, the Ohio State men’s tennis team is the ITA national indoor champion.

The Buckeyes exorcised the Wake Forest Demon Deacons Monday afternoon with a 4-2 win in the finals to claim the title.

It was a rematch of the 2017 national championships when Wake beat OSU.

This year’s title capped an absolutely dominating run through the tournament by the Buckeyes.

They swept Tulane, 4-0 in the opening round, then swept Virginia 4-0 in the quarterfinals. OSU earned a spot in the championship round with a 4-0 win over Texas on Sunday.

Monday, the Buckeyes started out hot again, winning two of three doubles matches to claim the doubles point for an early 1-0 lead.

Playing at #1 singles, JJ Wolf turned in another dominating performance, winning 6-0 and 6-3 to make it 2-0 Buckeyes.

Alex Kobelt, the Buckeyes’ #5 singles player rolled to his own straight-set win, 6-3 and 6-3 to give his team a 3-0 advantage. At that point, OSU needed to win just one of the final four matches, and the biggest drama centered around which Buckeye would finish off his win first.

Wake’s Bar Botzer won at the #3 singles position, the first point the Buckeyes had dropped in the tournament, but that just delayed the inevitable for a few minutes.

Martin Joyce sealed the win, 7-5 and 7-5 to give the Buckeyes their fourth point.

This is the second national title for OSU head coach Ty Tucker. He also led the Bucks to the indoor title in 2014.

You can watch the end of Joyce’s match that clinched the national title below, as well as the trophy presentation ceremony.

6 Responses

  1. Congratulations to the Buckeye Men’s Tennis Team on their National Championship! Great Job!

  2. Good job guys!Congrats on bringing it home,makes me proud to be a Buckeye!

  3. Congratulations, men’s tennis Buckeyes! You make us proud!

  4. Coach Tucker is sadly unappreciated. He turned around the program and made it the national power it is today.

  5. OUTSTANDING! National champs, congratulations!

Comments are closed.