Champions, Players of the Game Announced for Buckeyes’ Win Over Miami

Chris Olave Ohio State Buckeyes Receiver

Ohio State sophomore wide receiver Chris Olave, defensive linemen Chase Young and Haskell Garrett, and cornerback Sevyn Banks have been named the Buckeyes’ Offensive, Defensive, and Special Teams Player of the Game for Saturday’s 76-5 win over Miami (OH).

Olave caught four passes for 54 yards, including a 38-yard touchdown. Young notched two more sacks on the season, giving him seven on the season. Both sacks also resulted in forced fumbles. Garrett had four tackles and 1.5 tackles for loss. Banks, meanwhile, blocked a punt for the Buckeyes, which is always a big deal.

Olave is the only Buckeye on offense to be named a Champion all four weeks this season. Joining Olave were receiver KJ Hill, tight end Luke Farrell, and freshman receiver Garrett Wilson. This was Wilson’s first Champion’s nod.

For the first time this season, the entire offensive line failed to grade out as a Champion. In fact, none of them made the grade. Was it a matter of not enough reps, or an increased standard they needed to meet, or was it simply that they didn’t play all that well? Or maybe this is just a motivational ploy.

Defensively, defensive tackles Davon Hamilton and Jashon Cornell joined Chase Young and Haskell Garrett as Champions, as did defensive end Javontae Jean-Baptiste. For Garrett and Jean-Baptiste, this was their first time earning the Champions’ mark.

Hamilton and Young have made the grade every week this season.

The scout team players of the week were WR Austin Kutscher, OL Max Wray, CB Darryl Sinclair, and LB Cade Stover.