J.T. Barrett Named Big Ten Quarterback of the Year

J.T. Barrett Ohio State Football Buckeyes


For the second year in a row, and third time in his career, Ohio State quarterback J.T. Barrett has been named the Griese-Brees Big Ten Quarterback of the Year.

Barrett has completed 217-of-328 (66.2%) passes this season for 2,728 yards with 33 touchdowns and seven interceptions. He has also rushed for 672 yards and nine touchdowns.

He leads the Big Ten in passing efficiency (164.95), touchdown passes (33), and completion percentage (66.2%).

The only three-time captain in Ohio State history, Barrett holds 36 school or Big Ten records. He is currently ninth in school history with 3,137 yards rushing and first with 9,109 yards passing. The 102 touchdown passes in his career are the most in Big Ten football history, as are his 142 touchdowns responsible for.

Barrett’s 40 rushing touchdowns is now fifth in school history.

The Buckeyes lead the Big Ten in scoring this season, averaging 43.8 points per game, which is the most in the Big Ten since Barrett’s first year as a starter in 2014.

Barrett led Ohio State to the Big Ten’s best offense this season, averaging 529.8 yards per game, which is 76.5 yards more than the next-closest team. They led the conference in rushing yards per game (250.3 ypg) and finished second in passing yards (279.5).

Ohio State has now earned the QB of the Year Award five times in the seven-year history of the award.

Past Winners

2012: Braxton Miller

2013: Braxton Miller

2014: J.T. Barrett

2016: J.T. Barrett

2017: J.T. Barrett


2 Responses

  1. The above speaks for itself. IF the Buckeyes prevail on Saturday (and even more so if they can win the whole damned thing this year) then Brian’s name needs to come off the award and put J.T.’s on it. Along with Brees the BEST QB ever to play in the B1G

    1. I don’t think the award is named after Brian…

Comments are closed.