Nick Bosa Named Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year

Buckeyes NFL Draft Nick Bosa Ohio State Football Big Ten Football


Ohio State sophomore defensive end Nick Bosa was named the Big Ten’s Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year on Thursday, which is the fourth-consecutive year that a Buckeye has won the award.

Joey Bosa won it in 2014 and 2015, and Tyquan Lewis won it in 2016. A Buckeye has won the award five of the last six years (John Simon 2012).

The run also coincides with the arrival of defensive line coach Larry Johnson, who has now coached the Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year in each of his four seasons at OSU. Bosa is the ninth B1G Defensive Lineman of the Year that Johnson has coached in his 21 seasons as a defensive line coach in the Big  Ten.

Bosa led the Buckeyes this season with 12.5 tackles for loss and 6.0 sacks. In one game alone this season he had nine quarterback hurries according to his coaches.

This is the 11th time a Buckeye has won the award since its inception in 1984.

Past Winners

1986 – Eric Kumerow

1993 – Dan “Big Daddy” Wilkinson

1995 – Mike Vrabel

1996 – Mike Vrabel

2003 – Will Smith

2007 – Vernon Gholston

2012 – John Simon

2014 – Joey Bosa

2015 – Joey Bosa

2016 – Tyquan Lewis

2017 – Nick Bosa


3 Responses

  1. I’ve never heard anybody on ESPN mention that the Iowa game was tied late in the first half and Iowa was going to have to punt. But then Bosa got kicked out of the game on a play the opposing QB said shouldn’t even have been a penalty.

    But we have heard ESPN mention about a thousand times that Alabama had some mediocre linebackers out injured. It amazes me how the general public and apparently most of the committee members are duped by ESPN.

  2. Meyer’s tried hinting to their parents! XD

  3. 3 of the last 4 are Bosa’s. Too bad that there’s not another one coming, I knew he’d be very good, but not this fast!

Comments are closed.