Buckeye Wrestlers Win Big Ten Championship

B1G Tournament 1st Round


[From Ohio State and Big Ten releases]

Ohio State Claims Big Ten Wrestling Title
Buckeyes pick up second-straight Big Ten wrestling title and fifth overall

EAST LANSING, Mich. – Ohio State won the 2018 Big Ten Wrestling Championships title on Sunday with a team score of 164.5. The Buckeyes earned their second-straight Big Ten Championship and fifth overall. Ohio State claimed four individual titles from Nathan Tomasello (125), Joey McKenna (141), Kollin Moore (197) and Kyle Snyder (285).

Penn State finished in second place with 148 points, followed by third-place Michigan with 118. Iowa finished in fourth place with 90.5 points and Nebraska rounded out the top five with 72.5 team points.

Penn State’s Zain Retherford was named the Big Ten Wrestler of the Year, while Illinois’ Isaiah Martinez earned Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships honors. Ohio State’s Thomas Ryan was named Big Ten Coach of the Year and the Iowa’s Spencer Lee was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Ohio State’s Nathan Tomasello claimed the 125-pound title after defeating Minnesota’s No. 4 Ethan Lizak by a 10-7 decision. The Buckeye made history with his conference crown, becoming the 15th wrestler in the 106-year history of the Big Ten Championships to win four individual titles. At 133 pounds, Stevan Micic of Michigan posted a 7-4 decision over Luke Pletcher of Ohio State to win the 123rd individual title in Wolverines’ history.

Ohio State’s Joey McKenna earned a Big Ten title after defeating No. 3 seeded Michael Carr of Illinois with a 13-0 major decision to claim the 141-pound title. The 149-pound crown went to Zain Retherford of Penn State, who earned a 2-0 decision over Iowa’s Brandon Sorensen. At 157 pounds, Alec Pantaleo of Michigan claimed the win over Micah Jordan of Ohio State with an 3-1 decision.

Illinois’ Isaiah Martinez, the top-seeded 165-pound wrestler, posted a 4-1 decision over Vincenzo Joseph of Penn State to win his fourth-consecutive conference title. Martinez became the 16th wrestler in Big Ten history and the second wrestler of the day to win the fourth individual title of his career, joining his head coach Jim Heffernan in that elite club.

Mark Hall of Penn State picked up a Big Ten title, winning the 174-pound championship with an 4-3 decision over Myles Amine of Michigan. At 184 pounds, Penn State’s Bo Nickal, a No. 1 seed, claimed a 7-4 decision over No. 2 Miles Martin of Ohio State, earning his second-straight Big Ten title.

Top-seeded Moore of Ohio State successfully defended his 197-pound title, earning an 8-4 decision over Penn State’s Shakur Rasheed. Rounding out the group of individual Big Ten Champions was No. 2 Kyle Snyder of Ohio State, who claimed a 4-2 sudden victory over Adam Coon of Michigan for his third conference title.

The complete list of Big Ten individual awards and All-Big Ten honorees can be found below, while the full results are attached.

Wrestler of the Year: Zain Retherford, Penn State
Freshman of the Year: Spencer Lee, Iowa
Coach of the Year: Thomas Ryan, Ohio State
Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships: Isaiah Martinez, Illinois

Isaiah Martinez, Illinois
Stevan Micic, Michigan
Alec Pantaleo, Michigan
Joey McKenna, Ohio State
Kollin Moore, Ohio State
Nathan Tomasello, Ohio State
Kyle Snyder, Ohio State
Mark Hall, Penn State
Bo Nickal, Penn State
Zain Retherford, Penn State

EAST LANSING, Mich. – Ohio State grasped the 2018 Big Ten Wrestling title by accumulating the most team points (164.5) at the conference championships in 16 years (Minnesota, 174.0 in 2002). The 10-man lineup captured four individual titles, seven finals appearances and nine top-3 showings. All 10 Buckeyes also earned automatic bids to the 2018 NCAA Championships (March 15-17) in Cleveland.

• Ohio State registered an overall record of 33-7 for the weekend
• Bonus points came in 14 bouts for Ohio State (four pins, three tech falls and six major decisions)
• This marks Ohio State’s fifth Big Ten Wrestling title in school history (1923, 1951, 2015, 2017, 2018).

Final Team Standings & Brackets

1st | Ohio State 164.5 points
2nd | Penn State 148.0
3rd | Michigan 118.0
4th | Iowa 90.5
5th | Nebraska 72.5

Nathan Tomasello | 125 lbs
• One of just 16 wrestlers in the 106-year history of the Big Ten Championships to become a four-time champion)
• Avenged his lone loss of the season, defeating Iowa’s Spencer Lee in the Semifinals
• NCAA Championships to be hosted at Quicken Loans in Cleveland, Ohio; less than 10 miles from the house he grew up in)

Joey McKenna | 141 lbs 
• Third straight conference title after back-to-back ACC trophies at Stanford in 2016 and 2017
• Did not surrender a single point during the entire tournament
• Closed it out with a 13-0 major decision in the Finals

Kollin Moore | 197 lbs
• Second consecutive Big Ten title, yet to lose a match in his career at the B1G Championships

Kyle Snyder | HWT
• Third straight Big Ten title
• Avenged his only collegiate loss in the last three years by topping Adam Coon in sudden victory period number two
• Weighed in 59 pounds less than Coon Sunday morning (283.6 lbs to 224.6 lbs)

2 Responses

  1. What a GREAT competition. Congratulations Buckeyes. Amazing stat. The Big 10 has “81” qualifying entrants for Nationals. For perspective. The average entrants per the other 7 conference affiliations is 28.

  2. Great job Buckeye wrestlers and exciting victory for Snyder!..and this team handles themselves with class…kick some butt at nationals Buckeyes!

Comments are closed.