Men's Basketball

Ohio State Men’s Basketball 2019-2020 B1G Opponents Set

Ohio State Basketball Shootaround

The Big Ten has announced conference opponents for men’s basketball. Dates and times will be announced at a later date.

Here are the releases from Ohio State and the B1G.

RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten Conference announced the 2019-20 men’s basketball conference opponent breakdown Wednesday. Dates and times will be announced at a later date.

The regular-season league champion will again be determined following a 20-game schedule. The Big Ten went to a 20-game schedule for the first time in 2018-19.

Ohio State will play Minnesota, Indiana, Michigan, Penn State, Maryland, Wisconsin and Nebraska both in Columbus and on the road (home-and-home) in 2019-20. The Buckeyes travel only to Iowa, Michigan State and Northwestern. Illinois, Purdue and Rutgers will play Ohio State in Columbus only.

The Big Ten Conference champion was determined following a consistent 12-game league schedule from 1920 to 1950. The league schedule went to 14 games from 1951 to 1974 and then to 18 games from 1975 to 1997.

The conference dropped to a 16-game schedule from 1998 to 2007. The league champion was determined following an 18-game schedule from 2008 through 2018.

Ohio State has won 20 Big Ten Conference men’s basketball regular-season championships in its history. The first was in 1925 (11-1).

Ohio State’s Big Ten Championships by Length of Conference Season
12-game (1925, 1933, 1939. 1944, 1946, 1950)
14-game (1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1968, 1971)
16-game (2006, 2007)
18 game (1991, 1992, 2010, 2011, 2012)

2019-20 Big Ten Men’s Basketball Conference Opponent Breakdown

Teams will compete in 20-game conference schedule for second consecutive season

ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Big Ten Conference revealed a breakdown of all 14 schools’ opponents for the 2019-20 Big Ten men’s basketball season on Wednesday. Conference teams will compete in a 20-game conference schedule, playing seven teams both home and away and six teams once (three home and three away).

Below is the breakdown of each team’s conference opponents. Dates, times and television information will be announced at a later date. The season will conclude with the 23rd annual Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament (March 11-15) which returns to Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis for the first time since 2016.

2019-20 Big Ten Men’s Basketball Opponents


Home: Indiana, Minnesota, Nebraska

Away: Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin

Home/Away: Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern, Purdue, Rutgers


Home: Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern

Away: Illinois, Michigan, Rutgers

Home/Away: Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue, Wisconsin


Home: Ohio State, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Away: Indiana, Michigan State, Northwestern

Home/Away: Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Penn State, Purdue


Home: Michigan, Nebraska, Purdue

Away: Minnesota, Penn State, Wisconsin

Home/Away: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern, Ohio State, Rutgers


Home: Indiana, Penn State, Wisconsin

Away: Maryland, Minnesota, Northwestern

Home/Away: Illinois, Iowa, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State, Purdue, Rutgers


Home: Iowa, Ohio State, Rutgers

Away: Indiana, Nebraska, Purdue

Home/Away: Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Northwestern, Penn State, Wisconsin


Home: Maryland, Michigan, Nebraska

Away: Illinois, Purdue, Rutgers

Home/Away: Indiana, Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin


Home: Michigan State, Penn State, Purdue

Away: Illinois, Maryland, Minnesota

Home/Away: Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Northwestern, Ohio State, Rutgers, Wisconsin


Home: Iowa, Michigan, Ohio State

Away: Indiana, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Home/Away: Illinois, Maryland, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Penn State, Purdue


Home: Illinois, Purdue, Rutgers

Away: Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern

Home/Away: Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Penn State, Wisconsin


Home: Illinois, Maryland, Wisconsin

Away: Michigan, Nebraska, Purdue

Home/Away: Indiana, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Rutgers


Home: Michigan State, Minnesota, Penn State

Away: Maryland, Nebraska, Ohio State

Home/Away: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Northwestern, Rutgers, Wisconsin


Home: Indiana, Minnesota, Northwestern

Away: Iowa, Michigan State, Ohio State

Home/Away: Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Nebraska, Penn State, Purdue, Wisconsin


Home: Illinois, Maryland, Northwestern

Away: Iowa, Michigan, Penn State

Home/Away: Indiana, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State, Purdue, Rutgers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *