Chase Young Wins Chuck Bednarik Award as Nation’s Best Defensive Player

Ohio State defensive end Chase Young Michigan

The flood of awards continues for Ohio State defensive end Chase Young who picked up the Chuck Bednarik Award Thursday night as the nation’s best defensive player.

The Bednarik Award began in 1995 and is presented by the Maxwell Football Club out of Philadelphia.

Young is the first Ohio State Buckeye to win the award.

Young has also won the Big Ten’s Silver Football Trophy as the conference’s best player, the Bronco Nagurski Trophy as the nation’s best defensive player, and the Ted Hendricks Award as the nation’s top defensive end, among several other accolades over the last week or so.

Despite missing two games, Chase Young leads the nation with 16.5 sacks and is fourth nationally with 21.0 tackles for loss.

Ohio State’s last two opponents have had to resort to double and triple-teams to keep their quarterbacks upright, but Young still makes an impact against every offense he faces.

He is one of the reasons the Buckeyes have the No. 2 pass efficiency defense in the nation.

A junior, Chase Young is expected to forgo his final season of eligibility in order to enter the NFL Draft. He has been projected as a top two pick in the 2020 draft.