Nick Bosa Named First-Team Preseason AP All-American

Nick Bosa Ohio State Football Buckeyes indoors

The Associated Press has released its 2018 Preseason All-American team on Tuesday and Ohio State junior defensive end Nick Bosa was named to the first team.

Bosa was the only Buckeye on either the first or second team.

Bosa was previously named a Preseason All-American earlier this month by Sports Illustrated. Fourth-year junior cornerback Damon Arnette was named to SI’s second team.

The nod from the AP is not expected to be Bosa’s last during the preseason, nor is it expected to be an unusual site in the postseason as well.

Bosa was named the Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year last season and is the overwhelming favorite to repeat this season, especially now that he will be playing more snaps than he did a year ago when he finished with 16 tackles for loss and 9.5 sacks.

Here is the entire list of the first and second teams.



Quarterback — Will Grier, senior, West Virginia.

Running backs — Bryce Love, senior, Stanford; Jonathan Taylor, sophomore, Wisconsin.

Tackles — Jonah Williams, junior, Alabama; Mitch Hyatt, senior, Clemson.

Guards — Beau Benzschawel, senior, Wisconsin; Nate Herbig, junior, Stanford.

Center — Ross Pierschbacher, senior, Alabama.

Tight end — Noah Fant, junior, Iowa.

Receivers — A.J. Brown, junior, Mississippi; David Sills V, senior, West Virginia.

All-purpose player — Myles Gaskin, senior, Washington.

Kicker — Matt Gay, senior, Utah.


Ends — Nick Bosa, junior, Ohio State; Clelin Ferrell, junior, Clemson.

Tackles — Ed Oliver, junior, Houston; Christian Wilkins, Senior, Clemson.

Linebackers — Devin White, junior, LSU; Devin Bush, junior, Michigan; T.J. Edwards, senior, Wisconsin.

Cornerbacks — Greedy Williams, sophomore, LSU; Deandre Baker, senior, Georgia.

Safeties — Jaquan Johnson, senior, Miami; Taylor Rapp, junior, Washington.

Punter — Mitch Wishnowsky, senior, Utah.



Quarterback — Trace McSorley, senior, Penn State.

Running backs — A.J. Dillon, sophomore, Boston College; Damien Harris, junior, Alabama.

Tackles — David Edwards, junior, Wisconsin; Greg Little, junior, Mississippi.

Guards — Alex Bars, senior, Notre Dame; Michael Dieter, senior, Wisconsin.

Center — Sam Mustipher, senior, Notre Dame.

Tight end — Kaden Smith, junior, Stanford.

Receivers — K’Neal Harry, junior, Arizona State; Anthony Johnson, senior, Buffalo.

All-purpose player — Deebo Samuel. senior, South Carolina.

Kicker — Rodrigo Blankenship, junior, Georgia.


Ends — Rashan Gary, junior, Michigan; Raekwon Davis, junior, Alabama.

Tackles — Dexter Lawrence, junior, Clemson; Jeffrey Simmons, junior, Mississippi State.

Linebackers — Cameron Smith, senior, Southern California; Troy Dye, junior, Oregon; Mack Wilson, sophomore, Alabama.

Cornerbacks — Byron Murphy, sophomore, Washington; Julian Love, junior, Notre Dame.

Safeties — Lukas Dennis, senior, Boston College; Andrew Wingard, senior, Wyoming.

Punter — Jake Bailey, senior, Stanford.

2 Responses

  1. I’d say those latter awards would fit buckeye bob to a t.

  2. All these pre-season awards and prognostications are nice – gives the wags something to talk and write about before anything actually happens in the season. But I was just wondering: Is it true that with these pre-season awards, along with about $5.00, a player can get a small latte at Starbucks?
    I wonder who the pre-season picks are for the Nobel Prize and the Pulitzer Prize?
    Ha, ha!

Comments are closed.