Buckeyes Name Players of Game, Champions Vs. MSU

Terry McLaurin Ohio State Football Buckeyes

COLUMBUS — Ohio State has announced the Players of the Game and Champions from the Buckeyes’ 26-6 win at Michigan State on Saturday, and there is a rare double dip involved.

The Players of the Game on offense were fourth-year junior running back Mike Weber and fifth-year senior wide receiver Terry McLaurin. McLaurin was also the Player of the Game on special teams, along with redshirt sophomore punter Drue Chrisman. Defensively, fourth-year junior defensive tackle Dre’Mont Jones earned the nod as the Buckeyes’ Player of the Game.

Jones was only credited with two tackles on the day, but also had a pass broken up and two quarterback hurries. He was part of a defensive front seven that allowed 54 yards rushing on 18 attempts.

Following the game, Jones credited Chrisman and McLaurin as being key cogs in the Buckeye defense. Chrisman punted five times in the second half, with those five punts being downed at the 5, 6, 3, 1, and 2-yard line, respectively. McLaurin had a hand — literally — in downing a couple of those.

Chrisman’s punting was a demoralizer for Michigan State and it was the first thing head coach Mark Dantonio mentioned in his postgame press conference.

“I thought their punter did an excellent job,” he said. “I think we were down inside the 5 I believe five times. It was tough coming out.”

Only one of those drives went beyond four plays.

Offensively, McLaurin led the way with 63 yards receiving on five catches. He was targeted eight times as he assumes a more broadened role on offense in the absence of Austin Mack.

Joining McLaurin as Champions on offense were offensive linemen Thayer Munford, Isaiah Prince, and Demetrius Knox, running back J.K. Dobbins, tight end Luke Farrell — who is becoming a routine Champion, receiver Parris Campbell, and quarterback Dwayne Haskins.

Munford, Prince, and Knox have been named Champions for the second-consecutive week, as have Campbell, Farrell, and Dobbins.

Defensively, Jones was joined in the Champions club by fellow defensive linemen Jonathon Cooper and Robert Landers, as well as all three starting linebackers in Tuf Borland, Malik Harrison, and Pete Werner. Defensive backs Damon Arnette, Shaun Wade, Jordan Fuller, and Brendon White were also named Champions.

This is the second week in a row earning a Champion’s grade for Jones, Cooper, Borland, Arnette, and White.

2 Responses

  1. Munford? Prince? Are you kidding me? Willekes made them look foolish all game long. Don’t get me started on Werner either. This grading system is a joke.

  2. Excellence…Defense…Offense…Special Teams…End-Zone Jones…Arm-Alarm Haskins…Big-Foot Chrisman…Wrecking-Ball Weber…Tuf-Stuff Borland…Wham-Bam White….

Comments are closed.