Dwayne Haskins Wins Silver Football Award as B1G’s Best Player

Ohio State football quarterback Dwayne Haskins Record

Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins has won the Chicago Tribune Silver Football as the Big Ten’s best player and now joins a fraternity that includes college football legend Red Grange, who won the first Silver Football in 1924.

The award is voted on by the Big Ten’s head coaches and each coach must submit a first and second-place vote. Coaches cannot vote for their own players.

Despite a season where Haskins set numerous Big Ten records while throwing for 4,081 yards and 42 touchdowns, only six coaches had Haskins on their ballot.

Here is how the voting broke down per the Chicago Tribune.

2018 Chicago Tribune Silver Football voting
Player: 1st-2nd—Points

Dwayne Haskins, QB, Ohio State: 5-1—11

Trace McSorley, QB, Penn State: 2-4—8

Jonathan Taylor, RB, Wisconsin: 2-4—8

Devin Bush, LB, Michigan: 2-2—6

Rondale Moore, WR, Purdue: 2-0—4

Rashan Gary, DT, Michigan: 1-0—2

Joe Bachie, LB, Michigan State: 0-1—1

Shea Patterson, QB, Michigan: 0-1—1

Chase Winovich, DE, Michigan: 0-1—1

That means that seven Big Ten head coaches (not including Urban Meyer) left Haskins off of their ballots entirely, not viewing him as the first or second-best player in the league this year.

Haskins led the nation in touchdown passes this season, including a school-record six against Michigan last weekend. He threw for 400 yards in four of Ohio State’s nine Big Ten games this season, and fell just short with 396 yards against the Wolverines.

Haskins becomes the 20th winner from Ohio State, which is the most of any Big Ten school. It is the fifth time in Urban Meyer’s seven seasons at Ohio State that one of his players has won the award. Haskins joins J.T. Barrett (2016), Ezekiel Elliott (2015), and Braxton Miller (2012, 2013).

Here are the other winners from Ohio State

Troy Smith (2006)
Joe Germaine (1998)
Orlando Pace (1996)
Eddie George (1995)
Keith Byars (1984)
Art Schlichter (1981)
Cornelius Greene (1975)
Archie Griffin (1973, 1974)
Hopalong Cassady (1955)
Vic Janowicz (1950)
Ollie Cline (1945)
Les Horvath (1944)
Jack Graf (1941)
Wes Fesler (1930)

9 Responses

  1. COTY should go to Ryan Day he is the only coach to have a 100% win percentage at Ohio State

  2. When’s the last time an OSU coach won COTY? Never, as all expect OSU to have 1 or one loss. Besides Fitz, perhaps Brohm or even Frost as he turned that team around. If Harbaugh beat OSU it could have been him as well completing his now ruined, ‘Revenge Tour!’

    About Haskins, if Haskins did not begin running and have the type of game at MD and especially MI that award may not have been his, no matter his outstanding stats. But his tough runs coupled with TD passes, made him the clear and easy choice.

    1. Earle Bruce, 1979, was last OSU COTY. BIG rewards those who do more with less.

    2. You have to suck at least one year, them right the ship, before you can win COY.

  3. 7 coaches left Haskins off entirely… that’s just unbelievable. This is sour grapes from the other coaches in the conference.

    I’ll just go ahead get this out there early too… congratulations to the coach who beats out Urban Meyer for B10 COY award. No idea who else is worthy other than Coach Meyer… but I will eat my hat if he wins it.

    1. Coach of the year will go to Fitzgerald. If Iowa had only won 1 more game it would’ve been Ferentz again.

    2. It can’t be Meyer. Don’t you remember all the negative press at the beginning of the year? It was almost as if he condoned beating wives, to read some of those articles!

Comments are closed.