Haskins, Olatoye Named Ohio State Athletes of the Year

Dwayne Haskins Ohio State Buckeyes

From an Ohio State release.

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Heisman Trophy finalist Dwayne Haskins and NCAA indoor track and field national champion Sade Olatoye are Ohio State’s 2019 Male and Female Athletes of the Year. Both will now be placed on the ballots for Big Ten Athlete of the Year awards, with the winners to be announced by the conference soon.

Haskins is the first football player to win the Ohio State’s Male Athlete of the Year award since Troy Smith in 2007 and the 10th overall. The last track and field athlete to be named Ohio State’s Female Athlete of the Year was Christina Manning in 2012. Olatoye is the sixth female track and field athlete to win the award.

Did You Know: Dwayne Haskins’ nine 300-yard games in 2018 are the most in a single season and a career.  

Haskins left no doubt that he was among the great quarterbacks in Ohio State and Big Ten history when he threw for 4,831 yards and 50 touchdown last fall while leading the Buckeyes to the Big Ten title and a Rose Bowl Game victory over Washington. Haskins set 28 Ohio State and seven Big Ten records in 2018, including passing yards, touchdowns and total offensive yards (4,939). In addition to making the trip to New York City last December as a Heisman Finalist, Haskins was also named the Big Ten’s Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year, the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year and won the Chicago Tribune Silver Football award.

In two of the Buckeyes’ biggest games of the year – a 62-39 win over No. 4 Michigan and a 45-24 triumph against No. 21 Northwestern in the Big Ten Championship Game – Haskins threw for 895 yards and 11 touchdowns with just one interception. With a second-quarter TD pass in the Rose Bowl, Haskins became just the sixth player in FBS history to toss 50 touchdown passes in a single season. In April, he was the 15th overall selection in the first round of the NFL Draft by the Washington Redskins.

A communications major, Haskins earned OSU Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten honors in 2018. He is from Potomac, Md.

Did You Know: Olatoye did not place lower than sixth in any meet that she competed in during the 2019 outdoor season. 

Olatoye, a Dublin, Ohio, native and standout thrower for the women’s track and field program, holds four Ohio State records: both indoor (17.88m) and outdoor (17.88m) shot put along with weight throw (24.46m) and hammer throw (67.49m), all of which she claimed or lowered this season. Olatoye’s school record in the weight throw led to a national championship in the event, and it was also good for third-best all-time in NCAA history.

Thanks in large part to Olatoye’s efforts at the Big Ten Indoor Championships – which included individual titles in the shot put (17.88m) and hammer throw (24.07m) – the Buckeyes won their second team championship in program history. Ohio State also won the conference’s outdoor team title, marking the first time in eight years that the program completed the indoor-outdoor sweep.

At the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships, Olatoye finished third in the shot put and fourth in the hammer throw, becoming a four-time First Team All-American. Olatoye earned Big Ten titles in both the weight throw and indoor shot put, as well as finishing runner-up in the outdoor shot put and hammer throw. Throughout the regular season, Olatoye earned five consecutive Big Ten Field Athlete of the Week awards, becoming the first athlete in Big Ten history to accomplish the feat.

The senior received numerous awards throughout the 2018-19 campaign, including Big Ten Indoor Field Athlete of the Year and Great Lakes Regional Field Athlete of the Year. Olatoye was also named to the Pre-NCAA Indoor Watch List for the Bowerman, collegiate track and field’s highest honor, the first Buckeye to make the list in program history. Olatoye earned 16 gold medals during the 2018-19 season, never placing lower than sixth in any meet.

A health sciences major, Olatoye is a three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten honoree.


SportBig Ten Athlete of the Year
2018-19Sade OlatoyeTrack & Field
2018-19Dwayne HaskinsFootball
2017-18Kelsey MitchellBasketball
2017-18Kyle SnyderWrestling
2016-17Francesca Di LorenzoTennis
2016-17Kyle SnyderWrestling
2015-16Catherine ShieldsRowing
2015-16Kyle SnyderWrestling
2014-15Ashley BauerRowing
2014-15Logan StieberWrestling
2013-14Catherine ShieldsRowing
2013-14Logan StieberWrestling
2012-13Claire-Louise BodeRowing
2012-13Blaz RolaTennis
2011-12Christina ManningTrack & Field
2011-12Zain ShaitoFencing
2010-11Jantel LavenderBasketball
2010-11Steven KehoeVolleyball
2009-10Sam MarderSoftball
2009-10Evan TurnerBasketball
2008-09Jantel LavenderBasketball
2008-09J JaggersWrestling
2007-08Teresa MeyerPistol
2007-08Andras HoranyiFencing
2006-07Jessica DavenportBasketball
2006-07Troy SmithFootball
2005-06Jessica DavenportBasketball
2005-06A.J. HopFootball
2004-05Stacey GordonVolleyball
2004-05Mike NugentFootball
2003-04Allison HannaGolf
2003-04Dan TaylorTrack & Field
2002-03Stacey GordonVolleyball
2002-03Craig KrenzelFootball
2001-02Anna SmithSoftball
2001-02Raj BhavsarGymnastics
2000-01Donica MerrimanTrack & Field
2000-01Jamie NatalieGymnastics
1999-00Donica MerrimanTrack & Field
1999-00Jamie NatalieGymnastics
1998-99Dominque CallowayTrack & Field
1998-99Scoonie PennBasketball
1997-98Vanessa WoutersVolleyball
1997-98Hugo BoisvertHockey
1996-97Amy LanghalsGolf
1996-97Blaine WilsonGymnastics
1995-96Katie SmithBasketball
1995-96Eddie GeorgeFootball
1994-95Laura DavisVolleyball
1994-95Blaine WilsonGymnastics
1993-94Katie SmithBasketball
1993-94Chris SandersTrack & Field
1992-93Audrey BurcyBasketball
1992-93Chris NellomsTrack & Field
1991-92Leisa WisslerVolleyball
1991-92Jim JacksonBasketball
1990-91Holly O’LearyVolleyball
1990-91Jim JacksonBasketball
1989-90Susan GottliebSwimming
1989-90Mike RancanelliGymnastics
1988-89Nikita LowryBasketball
1988-89Joe GreeneTrack & Field
1987-88Bridgette TateTrack & Field
1987-88Chris SpielmanFootball
1986-87Karen LaFaceDiving
1986-87Butch ReynoldsTrack & Field
1985-86Tracey HallBasketball
1985-86Mike LaneseFootball
1984-85Yvette AngelBasketball
1984-85Robert PlayterGymnastics
1983-84Sarah JosephsonSynchronized Swimming
1983-84John FrankFootball
1982-83Cathy KratzertGolf
1982-83Chris PerryGolf
1981-82Art SchlichterFootball