Robert Landers, Tyreke Smith, Jonathon Cooper All Out This Week

Robert Landers Ohio State Buckeyes Nose Tackle

Robert Landers and Tyreke Smith will not play in Saturday’s game against Miami (OH) according to the Ohio State availability report that was just released.

Landers, the fifth-year senior nose tackle who started 11 games last year, has split reps with classmate Davon Hamilton over the last two seasons. Landers spoke with the media on Tuesday prior to practice this week, so he was a surprise appearance on the availability report.

As with all Ohio State injuries, no word of type or extent was given with Landers’ situation. This could also be completely precautionary given the opponent this week.

Sophomore defensive end Tyreke Smith is also out this week. After starting last week’s game against Indiana, Smith was seen on the sidelines in the second half in street clothes. On Thursday, Buckeye head coach Ryan Day said that this was a new injury and not an reaggravation of the same injury that had him miss the season opener against Florida Atlantic.

Smith and Landers are only two of the four defensive linemen who are out this week, as sophomore defensive tackle Taron Vincent and senior defensive end Jonathon Cooper continue to recover from their respective injuries.

There has been some speculation that Cooper has been close to returning from an ankle injury, and while that may still be true, that return will not be happening this week against the RedHawks.

Fifth-year senior H-back CJ Saunders continues to be out as well. He has yet to see action this season.

The lone game-time decision this week is sophomore cornerback Cam Brown.

Brown has found a role in the two deep at both cornerback and gunner for the Buckeyes this season. He had a fantastic tackle on a punt return late in last week’s game against Indiana.

Here is the entire availability report.

Game-Time Decision

§  CB Cam Brown



§  WR Kamryn Babb

§  DE Jonathon Cooper

§  DT Noah Donald

§  SAF Ronnie Hickman

§  DT Robert Landers

§  H-B C.J. Saunders

§  DE Tyreke Smith

§  DT Taron Vincent