Justin Fields Named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year

Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields Michigan

Ohio State sophomore quarterback Justin Fields has been named the Big Ten’s Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year.

The Big Ten has been releasing their end-of-season awards the last two days and Wednesday saw Fields’ name honored as the conference’s offensive player of the year.

Fields — who was also named First-Team All-Big Ten — has thrown for 2,654 yards and 37 touchdowns with just one interception this season. He has also rushed for 470 yards and another 10 touchdowns while playing in just half of his team’s fourth quarters this year.

Fields has accounted for at least four touchdowns in every game this season, save for the wins over Wisconsin and Penn State where he was held to just three and two scores, respectively.

Fields is seven touchdowns away from tying Dwayne Haskins’ Big Ten record set last year of 54 total touchdowns accounted for.

With this award, Fields is now the ninth Buckeye to be named the Big Ten’s Offensive Player of the Year, and the second in a row.

Last year, Dwayne Haskins won the award, which followed Ezekiel Elliott in 2015, Braxton Miller in 2012 and 2013, Troy Smith in 2006, Joe Germaine in 1998 (coaches selected Germaine, media selected Drew Brees), Orlando Pace in 1996, and Eddie George in 1995.

This was Fields’ first year as a starting quarterback. As a true freshman last season at Georgia, he was the backup to sophomore starter Jake Fromm. Fromm has accounted for 51 touchdowns the last two seasons.

Unsurprisingly, Fields was also named the Big Ten’s Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year.

The award, which began in 2011, has gone to a Buckeye every year except for 2011 (Russell Wilson, UW) and 2015 (Connor Cook, MSU).

Here are the list of winners since the award’s inception.

2011: Russell Wilson, Wisconsin

2012: Braxton Miller, Ohio State

2013: Braxton Miller, Ohio State

2014: JT Barrett, Ohio State

2015: Connor Cook, Michigan State

2016: JT Barrett, Ohio State

2017: JT Barrett, Ohio State

2018: Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State

The only two years a Buckeye hasn’t won the award have been when the team had split starters at quarterback. In 2011, it was Braxton Miller and Joe Bauserman sharing time. In 2015, it was Barrett and Cardale Jones.

5 Responses

  1. They ought to just call it QB of the year. Dobby deserves it more than Justin this year.
    Hypesman too – When even Chuba Hubbard and Johnathon Taylor can’t get a sniff despite great seasons (and they’re only just now noticing the top back from the top team 2 weeks or so before the award) it’s time to give up any hope that a non-QB will win it.

    1. Totally get your point and don’t necessarily disagree. With that being said, If the Buckeyes had to repeat this season without one of them, with the hopes of being in the same spot, in my opinion Fields is the one more sorely needed.

      1. Thing is, Jim. QB is SUCH a variable position we don’t know that such is true. Unless one subscribes that you can’t ride a great back to a championship anymore? There’s some evidence to that (Hubbard, Taylor just this year) but are those days truly gone? I don’t know.

        1. I would just say as far as OSU is concerned there is more high caliber talent at the running back spot than the QB spot. Give Teague all of Dobbins carries, behind that O line and I think results would be similar. I say that with ZERO disrespect to Robbins because he has set the tone from snap one. Replace Fields and I would venture to guess we’d be a he’ll of a team but not nearly as good. But again, not necessarily disagreeing with your choice.

    2. Andrew- with you all the way, JK would have been my choice too.

Comments are closed.