Which Buckeyes Have Graded Out as Champions Every Week?

J.T. Barrett Ohio State Football Buckeyes

Every week during Urban Meyer’s Monday press conference, he will read off the list of Buckeyes who graded out as champions in the previous game. The grading scale changes for each position group, but for each player it is a mark of how well they played at their respective positions.

Since this is the halfway point of the regular season, what better time to take stock of the champions.

Meyer doesn’t announce champions after losses — perhaps because champions cannot exist in losses, but champions have been named after each of the Buckeyes’ five wins this season, and only five players have earned the status in every win so far.

Those players are quarterback J.T. Barrett, center Billy Price, left tackle Jamarco Jones, and defensive ends Nick Bosa and Sam Hubbard. Barrett is the only two-time Player of the Game on offense or defense, winning the honor each of the past two weeks.

Six players have earned champions status in four of the wins this season: receivers Johnnie Dixon and K.J. Hill, offensive lineman Michael Jordan, tight end Marcus Baugh, and defensive ends Jalyn Holmes and Tyquan Lewis.

Baugh has been named a champion in the Buckeyes’ last four games, so he is trending very well right now.

Some other trends of note:

+ Defensive tackle Dre’Mont Jones has been named champion in each of the three wins he played in.

+ The only game Kendall Sheffield and Damon Webb have been named champions was the win over Army, when the Buckeyes faced a total of eight passes.

+ Prior to the Maryland game, cornerback Damon Arnette had earned champion status in three-consecutive games. It would not be wild speculation to think the only thing that cost him earning it against Maryland as well was the targeting call. So after a slow start against Indiana and Oklahoma, it looks like Arnette is trending up.

+ After being named a champion in OSU’s first three wins, right tackle Isaiah Prince has missed it the last two weeks.

+ Linebacker Jerome Baker has been named a champion three times this season. Fellow linebacker Dante Booker has earned champion status each of the last two weeks.

+ Receiver Binjimen Victor has only been named a champion once this season, and that was following the UNLV game.

+ Freshman defensive end Chase Young has been named a champion in each of the last two weeks. He still trails running back J.K. Dobbins on the true freshman leaderboard by one. Dobbins has only been named a champion once in the last three games, however.

No.Player NameIUArmyUNLVRUMD
6Hubbard, SamYesYesYesYesYes
16Barrett, J.T.YesYesYesYesYes
74Jones, JamarcoYesYesYesYesYes
97Bosa, NickYesYesYesYesYes
54Price, BillyYesYesYesYesYes
1Dixon, JohnnieYesNoYesYesYes
11Holmes, JalynYesNoYesYesYes
14Hill, K.J.YesYesYesNoYes
59Lewis, TyquanYesNoYesYesYes
73Jordan, MichaelYesYesYesNoYes
85Baugh, MarcusNoYesYesYesYes
2Dobbins, J.K.YesYesNoYesNo
3Arnette, DamonNoYesYesYesNo
4Fuller, JordanYesNoYesYesNo
17Baker, JeromeNoYesYesNoYes
21Campbell, ParrisYesYesNoNoYes
59Prince, IsaiahYesYesYesNoNo
83McLaurin, TerryNoYesYesYesNo
86Jones, Dre’MontYesYesYes
2Young, ChaseNoNoNoYesYes
11Mack, AustinNoYesYesNoNo
12Ward, DenzelNoYesYesYesNo
33Booker, DanteNoNoNoYesYes
76Bowen, BrandenYesYesNoNoNo
93Sprinkle, TracyYesYesNoNoNo
7Webb, DamonNoYesNoNoNo
8Sheffield, KendallNoYesNoNoNo
9Victor, BinjimenNoNoYesNoNo
18Cooper, JonathonNoNoNoYesNo
25Weber, MikeNo –YesNo
26Williams, AntonioNoNoYesNoNo
30McCall, DemarioNoNoNoYesNo
32Borland, TufNoYesNoNoNo
34Smith, ErickNoYesNoNoNo
35Worley, ChrisNo
39Harrison, MalikNoNoNoNoNo

2 Responses

  1. Do we know what the criteria is to be labeled as a champion?

    1. It varies for each position group. For OL, it’s around 80%. Other positions are higher, iirc.

Comments are closed.